Welcome to My Capstone E-Portfolio!

Writing is as old as history itself. In fact, we define history starting with the time that man learned how to express himself in written form. Whether through crude pictures, intricate hieroglyphs, or today’s modern languages, these “words” all share the same purpose of preserving thoughts and ideas beyond the human memory.

But while “words”–in whatever form–gradually came into being, the singular “Word” always was. As the first five verses of the Gospel of St. John famously relate:

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things came to be through him, and without him nothing came to be. What came to be through him was life, and this life was the light of the human race; the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

Indeed, this Light was but a single Word. A Word which, when spoken, “was made flesh and dwelt among us.” This incarnate Word, the person of Jesus Christ, “gives light to everyone,” filling the world “with grace and truth.” (John 1:9,14)

As I complete my Sweetland Minor in Writing at the University of Michigan, this capstone portfolio has given me the opportunity to reflect upon the relationship between my words and the Word. Throughout my four years of collegiate writing, several aspects of the former have evolved dramatically, and even my passion for the latter has become more Catholic–another word for “universal”–in its truest sense.

Ultimately, this portfolio is my attempt to share what I have been graced to receive. And in so doing, it’s my hope that the finite and perishable words contained within might in some way bear testimony–however feebly–to the infinite and eternal Word.

